U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Presidential Innovation Award for Environmental Educators

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency is accepting applications for the Presidential Innovation Award for Environmental Educators. This award recognizes outstanding K-12 teachers who employ innovative approaches to environmental education and use the environment as a context for learning.

Up to two teachers from each of EPA's 10 regions will be selected to receive this award. Applicants will be evaluated based on five primary factors: innovation; achievement; service to the community and underserved populations; leadership; and integration of environmental education.

The White House Council on Environmental Quality, in partnership with EPA, administers this award to honor, support and encourage educators who incorporate environmental education in their classrooms and teaching methods.

Applications are due May 16, 2016.

For more information, visit http://go.usa.gov/3u7XQ.

Please direct questions about this award opportunity to piaee@epa.gov.

Nathan Smith

Nathan Smith is Director of Technology for the College of Education and Human Services at Utah State University. In that role, he also directs The Adele & Dale Young Education Technology Center (The YETC) located in room 170 of the Education Building on Utah State University's Logan campus. The YETC is a combination student open­access computer facility, a K­12 curriculum materials library, a NASA Educator Resource Center for Utah, and a technology training center. Nathan served eight years (2004­2012) on the Board of Directors for the Utah Coalition for Education Technology (UCET) He was re­elected in 2014 to serve another two year term on the board. A former elementary school teacher, Nathan has taught students every age from young children to senior citizens. He has had the opportunity beginning in 2011 to train international high school teachers from all over the world about technology in education, through the U.S. State

Utah Coalition for Educational Technology Copyright © 2014-2020